This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Find out more here


To discuss how you and your organisation can get more involved with The Work Foundation, please contact us.

Call 020 7976 3575 or email


WorkWorld Media Awards 2010 - call for entries

Gideon Benari

03 September 2010

WorkWorld Media Awards 2010: Call for entries

Submissions are now invited for the 2010 WorkWorld Media Awards. The call for entries is open until 12 noon on Monday 1 November 2010.


Sponsored for the second year running by EDF Energy, these prestigious awards seek to recognise outstanding written and broadcast journalism covering any aspect of the world of work, the labour market and the economy, management and business. This year marks the 24th year of the independent and peer-reviewed awards.


A prominent panel of judges will include representatives from print and broadcast media and other public figures. The eight categories are: Reporter of the Year; Feature Journalist Award; Columnist of the Year; Broadcast Programme Award; Broadcast News Reporter of the Year; Journalist to Watch; Blogger of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Entries are judged on expertise, depth, authority, originality, use of language, wit, flair, good judgement and accuracy.


Will Hutton, executive vice chairman of The Work Foundation said, “The salience of work, the economy, the public finances and industrial change have never been higher on the news agenda. The Work Foundation is keen to acknowledge and celebrate the hard pressed people in the media who are delivering the very best of British journalism covering these issues.”


Vincent de Rivaz, EDF Energy Chief Executive added, “EDF Energy is delighted to be sponsoring the prestigious WorkWorld Media Awards for the second year. The partnership builds on our well-established relationship with The Work Foundation as well as the EDF Energy Regional Media Awards we run in support of excellence in journalism. The journalism recognised by the WorkWorld Media Awards is vital in charting the changes taking place in the modern workplace.”


Submissions for the 2010 WorkWorld Media Awards need to have been published or aired between 6 November 2009 and 1 November 2010.

Last year, awards were scooped by journalists from The Observer, The Times, Channel 4 News, BBC News Online and The Daily Telegraph while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Alan Jones of the Press Association.


Nominations close at 12 noon on Monday 1 November 2010 and the award ceremony will take place at ;
The Work Foundation, 21 Palmer St London, SW1H 0AD January 2011.
For more information about categories, rules, and how to enter, go to


Notes to editors:

1. Entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form which can be found at Journalists can either nominate themselves or someone else. Entries must arrive at The Press Office, The Work Foundation, 21 Palmer Street, London, SW1H 0AD by 12 noon on Monday 1 November 2010. Queries can be made on 020 7976 3554.
2. Work submitted must have appeared between 6 November 2009 and 1 November 2010.
3. Submitted materials will not be returned.
4. The judges’ decisions are final. There will no exchange of correspondence.
5. The Work Foundation is the leading independent authority on work and its future. It aims to improve the quality of working life and the effectiveness of organisations by equipping leaders, policymakers and opinion-formers with evidence, advice, new thinking and networks.

Media enquiries:

Gideon Benari 020 7976 3584 or 07825 527 040