This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.Find out more here


To discuss how you and your organisation can get more involved with The Work Foundation, please contact us.

Call 020 7976 3575 or email


WorkWorld Media Awards 2010: entry deadline approaching

Gideon Benari

20 October 2010

For immediate release 19 October 2010


WorkWorld Media Awards 2010: entry deadline approaching


The deadline for submissions to the 24th WorkWorld Media Awards is 12 noon on Monday 1 November 2010.

Sponsored for the second year running by EDF Energy, these prestigious, independent and peer-reviewed awards seek to recognise outstanding written and broadcast journalism covering any aspect of the world of work, the labour market and the economy, management and business.

Past winners of the Journalist to Watch award include Emily Ford of The Times, Louisa Peacock, now at The Daily Telegraph, Jackie Range from Dow Jones and Nicola Harrison of HR Magazine. Other recipients have included Robert Peston from the BBC, Martin Wolf of the FT, Polly Toynbee from The Guardian, Edmond Conway of The Daily Telegraph and Alan Jones from the Press Association.

The judging panel this year includes Rosemary Bennett, Anthony Browne, Richard Donkin, Baroness Denise Kingsmill, David Lloyd, Jeff Prestridge and Martin Shankleman. The eight categories are Reporter of the Year; Feature Journalist Award; Columnist of the Year; Broadcast Programme Award, Broadcast News Reporter of the Year; Journalist to Watch; Blogger of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Entries are judged on expertise, depth, authority, originality, use of language, wit, flair, good judgement and accuracy.

Submissions for the 2010 WorkWorld Media Awards need to have been published or aired between 6 November 2009 and 1 November 2010. The award ceremony will take place at The Work Foundation in January 2011.

More on the awards, including information about categories, rules and how to enter can be found here.

Notes to editors:

1. Entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form which can be found on at: Journalists can either nominate themselves or someone else. Entries must arrive at The Press Office, The Work Foundation, 21 Palmer Street, London, SW1H 0AD by 12noon on Monday 1 November 2010. Queries can be made on 020 7976 3554.

2. Work submitted must have appeared between 6 November 2009 and 1 November 2010.

3. Submitted materials will not be returned.

4. The judges’ decisions are final and there will be no exchange of correspondence.

5. The Work Foundation is the leading independent authority on work and its future. It aims to improve the quality of working life and the effectiveness of organisations by equipping leaders, policymakers and opinion-formers with evidence, advice, new thinking and networks.


Media enquiries:


Gideon Benari 020 7976 3584 or 07825 527 040